Wait!

I don’t need to confess it. Anyone who knows me has been quick to tell me, I am a MOW-YOU-DOWN to GET IT DONE person. Since my children have flown the nest, I have greatly tempered this abscess to my personality. Yes, I have been pulled over by a highway patrolman driving right beside me as I brazenly flew by while in deep thought. Understandably, the law does not cotton to such nose-thumbing and disrespect, inadvertent or not. I can’t recall whether I got a ticket or a warning, but I do recall I was already having a VERY bad day!

Slowing down has been at the top of my New Year’s resolution list for decades. On the last Christmas I celebrated with my dear Dad, 16 years ago, he gifted me a pink, battery-operated Energizer Bunny that still sits on the shelf in my office – a reminder to stop going and going and going. Here is what he gently tried to tell me all those years: there are valuable lessons to be learned and blessings to behold through the gifts of the present if you’ll just embrace patience, uncertainty, surrender and that four-letter word we all hate, WAIT!

In this age of sound bites, pixels, tweets and short-spanned Hollywood marriages, we’ve lost the blessings born of working through the processes of life. Last I checked, Rome wasn’t built in a day, it still takes 9 months to create a full-term baby, four years or more to obtain a college degree, and more than a day to lose 20 pounds. If it took God more than a few days to create the world, can’t we cut it a little slack?

With social media we have immediate news, we eat fast food. I even read about a mortuary that has a drive-through viewing window so you can pay rolling respects. We want what we want and we want it now. What we don’t want is to have to WAIT – anywhere anytime for anything. All this fast living has made us into an impatient people who are fearful and frustrated with uncertainty and all things we cannot control.

In Mark Batterson’s book, In a Pit With a Lion on a Snowy Day he reminds us of the great by-products of uncertainty and how very bored with life we would be if we had everything we wanted when we wanted it. There is good tension and anticipation created by uncertainty.

Think back to your dating days. Uncertainty in relationships is ROMANCE. What about spiritual stirrings, questions and wonder? Spiritual uncertainty is MYSTERY. How do you emotionally feel when you’ve waited for great news and it arrives? Emotional uncertainty is JOY! Ever spent time in great thought seeking understanding? Intellectual uncertainty is REVELATION. And what about pursuing your calling through a career? Occupational uncertainty is DESTINY!

Some things just take time – and they are meant to. It’s the reason that the things in life worth the most take the most time to bring forth. Think about it:

To realize the value of one year:
Ask a student who has failed a final exam.

To realize the value of one month:
Ask a mother who has given birth to a premature baby.

To realize the value of one week:
Ask an editor of a weekly newspaper.

To realize the value of one hour:
Ask the lovers who are waiting to meet.

To realize the value of one minute:
Ask a person who has missed the train, bus or plane.

To realize the value of one second:
Ask a person who has survived an accident.

To realize the value of one millisecond:
Ask the person who has won a silver medal in the Olympics.
(Author unknown).

I have a quote taped to my desk: “More is accomplished through prayer and rest than through personality and push.” Hurry is the death of prayer. Slow down! Take your foot off the gas pedal and climb out from behind the wheel. As my favorite refrigerator magnet reads: LET GO OR BE DRAGGED! Wait expectantly for the miracles and realize you are not in control of the world.

One thing is certain. In the WAIT through uncertainty are the blessings of ROMANCE, MYSTERY, JOY, REVELATION, and DESTINY.

~From the desk of Becky Morlok~
PHOTO: My nephew, Christian Baker

1 Comment

Filed under A life of purpose, Abundance, Collaboration, Commitment, Communication, Conquering Fear, Life Enhancement, Perseverance, Pursuing Your Dreams, Setting Goals, Staying POSITIVE!, Strengths, Gifts and Abilities, Transition, Uncategorized

One response to “Wait!

  1. Pingback: Food for thought…… | Career Chit-Chat

Leave a Reply

